Welcome to the RALEIGH Golf Society

Following the closure of the HMS Raleigh Golf Cartel, it is intended to officially form a new private Raleigh Golf Society at an AGM planned for 8 March 2024 at Boringdon GC. In recognition of his efforts to establish the original Service Golf Cartel in 1995, WOPT M Shone BEM has been nominated as Honorary Life President of the new Society.

Much work has been ongoing in the background by a Temporary Committee to maintain the current offer and make the correct preparations to establish the new Society. Subject to the support and agreement of the ex-Cartel members for a new Constitution and Committee at the planned AGM, the new Society will take the form of a not-for-profit unincorporated private members organisation and, although no longer directly affiliated to the Service or MoD, it will follow the principles set in the provision of a golf facility for Serving, Ex-Serving personnel and MOD Employees residing within the East Cornwall and West Devon area.

The new Raleigh Golf Society will continue to build on the original Cartel offer which currently boasts some 8 golf courses in the local area; St Mellion Estates, Lanhydrock, China Fleet Country Club, Boringdon, Trethorne, Tavistock, Dainton Park, Carlyon Bay and Staddon Heights Golf Clubs.

It is hoped the Society will retain the 180 members from Serving, Ex-Serving and MOD Civilians, as well as a small number of Associate members, which have been previously agreed by the Raleigh Golf Cartel Committee. To uphold the Service ethos, priority will be given to military personnel serving and veterans. The 4 charity and fun competitions arranged by the Competition and Events Secretary over the year will continue, which will include the most prestigious event in our calendar, ”The Christmas Turkey Trot” competition for our chosen charity, UHP-Play Team(The Children’s Ward Derriford Hospital).

The Society welcomes new members including those who are new to the service or to the game.  If you would like to join please click here or contact the Membership Secretary.